SharePoint
Feedback by UserVoice

I suggest you ....

Provide ability for user to clear frequent sites and activity on their SharePoint page

Provide ability for user to clear frequent sites and activity on their SharePoint page.

468 votes
Sign in
(thinking…)
Password icon
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Chris shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

93 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Password icon
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • IT Bear commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I have been following this for almost 2 year but I think I found a potential solution:

    First: frequent site is somehow tied to Office Graph and Delve. So you need to disable Office graph in SharePoint admin center -> Setting, select "Don't allow access to Office Graph."

    Then open your Delve, go to setting -> Feature setting, disable document tracking.

    Finally, go to SharePoint main page (where the frequent site is listed), go to Site settings -> Search -> Search and offline availability. click "Reindex site" to trigger a site crawl.

    Log out and wait for 1 hour, log back in, and Voila!! frequent site is empty.

    I have tried on my account and it works.

  • Erik commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Could anyone from the SharePoint dev-team explain why this bug is not fixed yet?

  • Tom commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    This should really be an option... even better if the user could select individual items to remove from the 'frequent sites' or 'activity' lists.

    Many, many other websites and applications have this basic feature.

  • Trinh commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    This is an issue because WORD uses it to show Save As locations for users. Clearing this has multiple user usability.

  • JL Martine commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Can't believe this was suggested in 2016 and has not been acted on. Would be helpful as deleted site have a habit of lingering which can be confusing.

  • Jack commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    This suggestion have over 376+ is it so difficult to code a button to reset the frequent sites? v

  • Frank commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Tried doing the unfollowing trick and it did not remove my sites. Every time I delete a site they still remain in the Frequent Site List.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Update: after unfollowing the removed site, refreshing the Microsoft Office Home screen clears the Frequent Sites list....it doesn't take a couple of hours as previously stated.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I was having the same issue, and then I noticed that not only was my removed site still being listed, but this removed site was also listed under Following. So I "unfollowed" (click the little star) the removed site and it was no longer listed under Following. Some time later (couple of hours I think), the site was actually gone from my Frequent Sites list. I checked my users and their Frequent Sites lists are not listing the removed site either.

    I realize my situation is not significant (I'm working with only 1 site) but maybe unfollowing sites eventually removes the sites from the Frequent Sites list?

  • Jerome commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    This is terrible. There was an operational meeting which raised the issue of how our staff get confused because of these dead sites persisting in 'frequent sites'. It is so frustrating to have to tell operations that there is nothing we can do because Microsoft are unable to solve it. I'm not in the habit of recommending Sharepoint generally but this really makes me want to actively discourage companies from taking it up.

  • Brandon commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    this is very frustrating and costly. i am surprised after 81 comments and years of complaints, one of the biggest (if not the biggest) software company in the world can't fix this?

  • Charlie Rube commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Just really getting in to testing SharePoint for our company, and am shocked to see that test sites I deleted still show up on the page a person sees when they click on SharePoint from the waffle. Deleted sites should stay in the recycle bin, but immediately taken off of every frequent or recent list. They shouldn't show up in search results either.

  • Jason Jeffas commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    From an admin and user standpoint, highly confusing and plain annoying. Please implement a fix as soon as you can.
    Thanks

  • Everette commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    It is pretty irritating. A tester I created and deleted is still showing up. I am sorry to see that this is still an issue two years after this suggestion was made.

  • Maria Silversken commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    A deleted site should immediately disappear from every list, including the 'Latest Visited'. It has been more than two years since Chris posted his idea/request. Is it really that hard to adjust the codes?

← Previous 1 3 4 5

Feedback and Knowledge Base