SharePoint
Feedback by UserVoice

I suggest you ....

Bring Back Script Editor Web Part in "Modern" SharePoint

The Script Editor Web Part has been replaced by the Content Editor (which does a very limited iframe) and the new SPFX stuff. I am not a developer, but knowledgeable in HTML, Javascript, CSS. The SEWP met some very complex use cases (targeted for replacement by SPFX), but also some very simple use cases.

Example: Insert a formatted single HTML button, something that is big, draws attention, and encourages the user to click it to start an action.

What might be just 2 lines of code, has now turned into (what looks like) hundreds of files of deployment, installing all kinds of tools that I have never heard of or know what they are actually doing in the background.

I am finding SPFX to be specifically geared toward professional developers and limiting "citizen" developers from adding just simple things to SharePoint pages. I am trying to learn it, but there are so many things above my head at this point, and my role is not to be a full-time developer.

This is to lobby to bring back the Script Editor Web Part to meet simple use cases

633 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Brent Ellis shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

33 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Juan Pineiro commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

How does requiring SPFX fit into empowering users? Bring back the Script Editor Web Part and give us more options and flexibility with page design and page real estate.. for example allow us to hide Title, Search, Logo, Publish Bar, Comment. Our users are not even interested in Modern until we viable migration path for the UI.