SharePoint
Feedback by UserVoice

I suggest you ....

Bring Back Script Editor Web Part in "Modern" SharePoint

The Script Editor Web Part has been replaced by the Content Editor (which does a very limited iframe) and the new SPFX stuff. I am not a developer, but knowledgeable in HTML, Javascript, CSS. The SEWP met some very complex use cases (targeted for replacement by SPFX), but also some very simple use cases.

Example: Insert a formatted single HTML button, something that is big, draws attention, and encourages the user to click it to start an action.

What might be just 2 lines of code, has now turned into (what looks like) hundreds of files of deployment, installing all kinds of tools that I have never heard of or know what they are actually doing in the background.

I am finding SPFX to be specifically geared toward professional developers and limiting "citizen" developers from adding just simple things to SharePoint pages. I am trying to learn it, but there are so many things above my head at this point, and my role is not to be a full-time developer.

This is to lobby to bring back the Script Editor Web Part to meet simple use cases

527 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Brent Ellis shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

24 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Eriza commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Most useful app to change simple look and feel. Really hope it we be there soon, as it gave me headache every-time I want to make simple changes (eg: add background color, add border line).

• Eric commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate