OneNote versioning and disabling sync to local app.
Allow versioning for OneNote Online. (If this is available in some back end admin setting, why does it apply to a Word document for instance, but not OneNote? When you right click on the Word doc, you get versions, if you right click on the OneNote notebook, you do not) Also, to have some option somewhere to not allow a local sync of the online OneNote notebook. So if the user opens the notebook in their local pc app (Windows 10 OneNote app, or OneNote 2016 full install from Office version) they only have a read only version.
Please, we definitely need it for centralize OneNote management
we should have versioning for OneNote on Share Point so that I could recover from my catastrophic mistake. Sync with wrong machine and lost a lot.
Vivi buntoro commented
I have to switch back and forth modern and classic mode to enable version history on OneNote files in Sharepoint library and in order to use the copy/move feature. It is making administrating OneNote files much more tedious.The modern view should retain all the useful features from classic mode plus new ones from the modern view. The auto sync is also a nuisance when content approval is enabled as it easily triggers the file into draft without valid changes that makes the OneNote content library harder to manage. Once OneNote triggers in draft upon check out, it doesn't revert back if we discard the check out. Super annoying.
This is still a problem even with versioning inside OneNote, because when people make changes e.g. delete things within the webapp (including within Microsoft Teams) these pages do not get moved to the OneNote recycle bin - they are permanently deleted. This can't even be fixed with reverting the SharePoint library which is being rolled out currently, because OneNote notebooks are stored in site assets rather than in the document library.
Teresa Colloton commented
Agree with both Colin Close and Robert Duff
Robert Durff commented
The real point, I think, is some way to recover from unintentional changes to a shared OneNote notebook. Unintentional deletions of a .one file can be recovered from through SharePoint recycle bin, but if you want to roll back changes a team member has made, that's not really possible today.