hide/disable the Recent Activity in the details pane
Implement a configurable switch to hide/disable the Recent Activity in the details pane. Should be configurable at the user, library or tenant level.
Users find it annoying when the details pane keeps refreshing as other users update a list item or document; it makes the details pane constantly refresh and appears to "flicker" causing a poor user experience.
Arezu Madadi commented
It's a GDPR issue and needs to fix ASAP.
Makes the screen look too busy and detracts from the documents
Osman Beyaztas commented
This option should be really implemented. People are getting "scared", because it feels like big brother is watching them..
Yes, its a GDPR issue that needs fixing
Dr. Georg Krieger commented
We have the same issue: If you share information with external people in SP, alle these persons can see what the others have done. That's in Germany nearly not possible (all must declare, that they accept these matter).
Displaying user activities and names of internal and external users without the ability to hide this feature make SharePoint a ineffective tool for confidential use access to a site. Needs to be fixed ASAP otherwise SharePoint cannot be relied to keep user information confidential
Yes this is a very annoying feature and should be rectified ASAP.
To solve the proble, navigate to
list setings->Advanced settings->Quick property editing (NO)
This will make the "details pane" readonly. I hope this helps.
We noticed this "feature" too - it's a GDPR issue because if you share anything with anyone external to your organisation, then they can see this activity feed, which includes the full email addresses of anyone new that something is shared with - there's an activity entry "<person a> shared <item x> with <full email address of external user>" every time something in the library is shared with an external user. This doesn't log the same detail for internal users. So please fix this quickly!
This will be a very important feature. Not always we need to show recent changes did by other users. Especially, when external users login into the library.