Don't use the recycle bin when moving files
Just spent a whole weekend very very slowly clearing items from recycle bins after moving hundreds of GBs from one SharePoint library to another, as our tenant ran out of space due to the duplication.
• don't make a copy in the recycle bin - just move the files
• make retaining the copy optional (
• or, at the very least, provide a warning