Provide options to manage 'Shared with us' Document Library view and link
A new 'Shared with us' link has suddenly appeared in the Quick launch of all our SharePoint team sites when selecting 'Documents'. This is causing confusion among our users and many have asked how it can be hidden or how they can remove no longer relevant documents from the list.
Unfortunately, it is currently not possible to move it, hide it or make it a sub link of Documents (which would be logical) or to remove individual files from the list (unlike in the 'Shared with me' view in OneDrive).
Can you please make these improvement ASAP. It is not helpful having new, 'half-baked' features appearing without being able to control their behaviour.
Please have an option to turn this feature off, its horrible UX.
Please enable the option to hide or remove this, it is annoying.
If you change the "list experience" to Classic it gets rid "Shared with us" menu item but looks "Classic"
Michael Bosch commented
Microsoft, please listen to your SP admin customers! I know you've received probably thousands of complaints by now about this -- it is a perfectly baffling feature that confuses our users. Remove it, or give us the ability to remove it. Those are the only two choices.
Please provide an option to remove this as needed. It's annoying and confusing to 90% of our audience. It looks like it is placed there without a good reason to better serve Microsoft, not the rest of us.
That's not just a rant, it's true - Microsoft wants to promote the use of Groups and this is all about Groups - we get that.
But when carefully thinking through our navigation for sites, putting this useless link as the number four item in the side navigation EVERY TIME is not good.
Let US determine the navigation needs of all these sites, Microsoft should have NO say in how we provide navigation to users. Would Microsoft require that we place their logo on all of our work? Of course not. This is the same principle.
It's incredibly annoying to see our navigation encroached upon every time we build a site. Come on guys - either lose it or give us a means to better manage it.
Please enable the option to hide or remove this, it annoys many users and site owners