A OOTB feature should be available to hide "Shared with Us" link
A OOTB feature should be available to hide "Shared with Us" link. Also, a suggestion regarding the placement of this link.
Can we have this link on the document library ribbon menu instead of Left navigation menu.
Please Please Microsoft, give us the option to remove. It confuses most users.
Todd Maddox commented
Heavily upvote this. Crazy you can't toggle this off. For us it's a useless link that clutters up the Nav Bar.
Andrew Calow commented
This seems to be a pointless facility and seems to appear randomly. For new adopters this causes a lot of confusion.
The "Shared with us" link has caused substantial confusion among site users at my organization. Please allow us to remove this link!
Our company is launching a new Intranet with modern teams sites for departments. Libraries are in the navigation. Then I have to explain to everyone in the company that the random "shared with us" link that has nothing in it will randomly appear and to ignore it. That is absolutely stupid.
We are an FDA regulated and Sox compliant company. Permissions require approval and we limit sharing to prevent an unregulated spaghetti of permissions being granted by end users. So these "shared with us" links will always be blank and highlight a feature we don't use. It just makes SharePoint as a product seem messy.
Just answer me this, why would I want a useless confusing link randomly inserted into my site navigation?
Agree. Shall have the function of hiding this 'Share with Us' link in the left nav bar on modern sharepoint online team sites.
This makes no sense to appear in the left side navigation pane when I choose SharePoint Lists. Shared with Us does not appear when on the Home Page...
Also, when sharing stopped, the file or folder should disappear automatically. I have a shared file displayed there which is not available anymore if I click it. However, if I click Share, I get a link which brings me to the item, so the item still exists, but it's no longer shared, but it is still showing up on the 'Shared with Us' page. I can't delete this non-working link. First request about this was in 2017, found here: https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/sharepoint/quot-shared-with-us-quot-link-in-modern-sharepoint-menu-behavior/m-p/41692
Rob - IT SP Admin commented
Can we just have an option to remove this please. No need to have this option mandatory on the menu.
Michael Boucaud commented
Please allow option to remove!
Please add a way to turn off this feature
Lindsay Hieb commented
The Shared With Us folder sometimes appears in the Side Navigation. This folder has nothing in it and I'd like to remove it altogether from appearing in the side Navigation. It adds clutter and confusion for clients.