You may also be interested in
The ability to turn off the new feature for the whole tenancy for, 'You may also be interested in" on SharePoint online.
Currently have to do this by page, for 7 intranets, time consuming and annoying, better to have it off by default and allow users to turn on if they need it. This is creating huge problems for us
Karen Tang commented
we have to do this for each site collection and being recommending the flat hierachy, we have hundreds to sites to do this on everytime we make a site!
I could not find any documentation about how it works. I.e. this might be a good feature if used properly, but Currently it , seems, suggest random pages that nobody finds useful.
what is the logic of how it decides. If answer is AI - it maybe A but is not I at the moment.
Agree that this is a super annoying and frustrating feature that really should be an opt in - have it as a web part if you must, but firing it in randomly will have done nothing for adoption.
For those that want to stop it appearing on your site pages, you can deactivate it in Site Settings > Site Actions > Manage Site Features. Deactivate "SharePoint Recommendations" and that will stop it appearing on pages when published.
Do note however that it MAY still appear on pages when you are in edit mode but will not be published on the page. This is weird behaviour that seems to happen on and off to me (why appear at all once deactivated?) but only a minor distraction in the meantime.
Hope that helps till MS fix this and make it opt in from the start.
Florian Wobee commented
This keeps coming back, even after I deactivated the feature - how can I disable this on the tenant? We did not ask for this feature and it is not only everywhere, but won't stay off when we turn it off.
is there information on the logic of what items appear in this new section?
Amarnath Janakiraman commented
This feature just started showing up on the home page of one of our sites for Read only users and there seems to be no way to turn this off. This is very annoying and causing issues.
this should be an active choice instead.
This feature automatically turns back ON every time the user edits the page. Very annoying