Warn users that replacing a SharePoint file is NOT the same as adding a new version
Summary: Warn users that when you replace a file on SharePoint, you are NOT adding a new version. All your version history will be lost.
Context: I had a user who was having an issue saving a document on SharePoint, so they saved a copy to their OneDrive so preserve the changes.
They then tried moving that file to SharePoint. When it replaced the existing file, it overwrote the file, losing all of the version history.
I was asked to raise this issue here by Microsoft, so they could review the details.
The problem: Microsoft told me that when you save a copy, you're saving a new version of the document without any of the version history. Makes sense to me, but I don't think it would be obvious to most users that this is happening.
The solution: You could put a warning when you save a copy that you won't be preserving version history, but to be honest I think the better thing to do would be to create a warning when you try to overwrite a document in SharePoint (from OneDrive or elsewhere) that this is not the same as adding a new version! You will overwrite the document, and that includes all of its version history, regardless of whether it is checked out or not.