SharePoint
Feedback by UserVoice

I suggest you ....

Add "People with Existing Access" to the Default Link Types under SharePoint Admin Center's sharing options.

Add "People with Existing Access" to the Default Link Types under SharePoint Admin Center's sharing options.

199 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    Jay shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

    39 comments

    Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Rachel Bening commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Please address this. It's essential that permissions aren't broken accidentally. We need a way to get a link which will open in the browser without breaking permissions.

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Is anything happening with this? I think this is an essential and would strongly advise people to avoid upgrading to SharePoint Online until this is fixed

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Please restrict users from being able to share/copy link to parties outside the established permissions by default

      • Neil commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        This would be really good. Especially for Site Owners to set the default as well as Admins.

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        We have just spent days fixing broken inheritance on files as we didn't realise this setting was in place. Now have it fixed so that users cant break inheritance however if an admin or someone with full control clicks on copy link it will automatically break the inheritance again.

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        There should be more people voting for this. Please share this link. Not having the ability to default to "People with Existing Access" on sites that have specific security set, you end up with broken permissions on content users already had access to the content and admins who have approval required, you need to approve sharing. You don't need this extra step when the user already has access to the content. It's unnecessary administrative work to approve requests and clean up the broken permissions.

      • rkraus commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        This should be the default option. Allow admins to disable allowing users to adjust permissions.

      • JG Meillaud commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Of course anyone in their right mind would like the default not to mess up with the current permissions!! I really wonder how the product team can end up making this decision..
        It's a shame because Sharepoint and Office365 have really improved over the last few years...

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        This really should be the default to avoid potential breaches of confidential information when the wrong link gets out.
        In fact I would imagine almost any administrator would want to lock it down so this is the ONLY option people can use

      • AlarK commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        This is the desired default link setting also in our organization

      • Antony commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        Yes, this needs to be a selectable default option. Having users be able to generate links to others with no possibility of administrative control doesn't make much sense. We need to be able to do this so that users don't knowingly or unknowingly send out links they shouldn't based on IT or Corporate policies.

      • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        this should be the default, because the users break the Rights structure when they share the file for People who already have Access.
        And from my Point of view this is the common behavior

      • Michael Delpach commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

        This is a must have. Within our Alliance (internal and external), internal Alliance members inadvertantly send links to external Alliance members with the default link setting which is "People in [Internal Organisation]".

      ← Previous 1

      Feedback and Knowledge Base