"Copy Link" on SharePoint document/folder creates unique permissions
On a SharePoint site that I own, I noticed that once someone does a "Copy Link" against a document (or a folder), the document (or folder) gets applied with "Unique Permissions" and inheritance from the Parent folder are disabled.
This makes managing user permissions complex and time-consuming.
Can we disable this permission change? by allowing users to share document to users with existing permission only...
The button "copy link" should actually be renamed to "create unique URL" since every user thinks this will give you the path to the item. But it does not, it creates a unique link.
Our own users and every user of our customers are very confused about this. We know that you can use the path under the properties of the item but since this is kind of hidden nobody can see it right away.