SharePoint
Feedback by UserVoice

Lex

My feedback

  1. 1,221 votes

    We're glad you're here

    Please sign in to leave feedback

    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    74 comments  ·  Sites and Collaboration » Document Libraries  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    Lex commented  · 

    I discovered this on a site that was being archived for a folder that was hidden to EVERYONE but the site owners. The files were copies of the originals in the same site and undergoing metadata cleanup for transfer to a new project site in the hidden folder. Because they were copies all the data and apparently these SHARED permissions copied over. These copies in a hidden and locked folder on an archived site were being altered. A huge issue, as the new copies in the new site were being ignored and we had triplicated files now: the archived file, the hidden file that was cleaned up, and the one everyone could see and edit.
    these 'Share' Permissions are a nice concept but are really damaging to the owners of a site for keeping consistent permissions and consistent messages about site permissions.

    Lex supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base